## **Horizon School Division No. 67**

6302 – 56 Street Taber, Alberta T1G 1Z9

Phone: (403) 223-3547 1-800-215-2398 FAX: (403) 223-2999

www.horizon.ab.ca

The Board of Trustees of Horizon School Division No. 67 held its Organizational Meeting of the Board on Wednesday, October 24<sup>th</sup>, 2018 commencing at 1:00 p.m. in the Eric Johnson Room.

TRUSTEES PRESENT: Marie Logan, Bruce Francis, Blair Lowry, Rick Anderson, Derek Baron,

Jennifer Crowson, Christa Runka

ALSO PRESENT: Dr. Wilco Tymensen, Superintendent of Schools

Philip Johansen, Associate Superintendent of Finance & Operations

Anita Richardson, Associate Superintendent of Programs, Services & Human Resources

Cole Parkinson, Taber Times Sheila Laqua, Recording Secretary

### **MINUTES**

#### 1. Call to Order

Philip Johansen, Associate Superintendent, called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m.

### 2. Nominations and Election for Chair of the Board

Philip Johansen called for nominations from the floor for the position of Board Chair.

Derek Baron nominated Marie Logan for the position of Board Chair.

Marie Logan accepted the nomination.

Philip Johansen called for nominations. No further nominations were made.

Marie Logan was declared to be the Chair of the Board of Trustees of Horizon School Division No. 67 until the next Organizational Meeting of the Board.

### 3. Nominations and Election for Vice-Chair of the Board

Philip Johansen called for nominations from the floor for the position of Board Vice-Chair.

Rick Anderson nominated Bruce Francis for the position of Board Vice-Chair.

Bruce Francis accepted the nomination.

Philip Johansen called for nominations. No further nominations were made.

Bruce Francis was declared the Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees of Horizon School Division No. 67 until the next Organizational Meeting of the Board.

### Chair Marie Logan assumed Chair of the Meeting

### 4. Approve Trustee Committees for 2018-2019

The Board approved the 2018-2019 Trustee Committee representatives as attached to these minutes.

BOARD CHAIR ELECTED

118/18

119/18

BOARD VICE-CHAIR ELECTED

### 5. Trustee Administrator's Meeting Responsibility for 2018-2019

The Board approved the Trustee representative for the 2018-2019 Administrator's Meetings as attached to these minutes.

## 6. Approve Trustee School Responsibilities for 2018-2019

The Board approved the Trustee School Responsibilities for the 2018-2019 term of office as attached to these minutes.

7.

#### **Trustee Remuneration**

The Board of Trustees reviewed Trustee Remuneration and made the motion that remuneration be increase by \$100.00/month effective January 1<sup>st</sup>, 2109 for the 2018-2019 term of office. This increase is to off-set the impact of the Municipal Officers Expense Allowance being added to the Trustee taxable income effective January 1, 2019.

### 8. Approved Board Meeting Dates for 2018-2019

The Board approve the Board Meeting Dates for the 2018-2019 term of office as attached to these minutes.

### 9. School Visits

Chair

The Board will review the 2018-2019 school visits in January 2019.

## 10. Adjourn Organizational Meeting

· Moved by Derek Baron that the Organizational Meeting Adjourn.

	Carried Unanimously	ADJOURNMENT 120/18
Secretary		

## Horizon School Division No. 67 Trustee Committees (2018-2019 SCHOOL YEAR)

## Board Chair – Marie Logan Board Vice-Chair – Bruce Francis

Finance/Audit Committee All members of the Board	Budget Committee All members of the Board
A.T.A. Negotiating/Liaison Committee Marie Logan - Chair Bruce Francis Derek Baron	C.U.P.E./Support Staff Negotiating Liaison Committee Rick Anderson- Chair Jennifer Crowson Blair Lowry
Public Relations Committee and <i>Friends of Horizon</i> Jennifer Crowson Marie Logan	Facilities Committee Bruce Francis – Chair Derek Baron Blair Lowry
Policy Committee Christa Runka Rick Anderson	ASBA Zone 6 Director Marie Logan Christa Runka - (alternate)
Council of School Councils One member of the Board to attend meetings on rotation	Hutterian Brethren Board Representative Rick Anderson
Administrative Council Meetings One member of the Board on a monthly rotation	Adhoc Committees All members of the Board
<b>TEBA</b> Marie Logan	Indigenous Committee Jennifer Crowson Rick Anderson – (alternate)

## Horizon School Division No. 67 Board of Trustees Administrator's Meeting Representation (2018-2019)

DATE	TRUSTEE ATTENDING
Tuesday, September 11, 2018	Bruce Francis
Tuesday, October 9, 2018	Rick Anderson
Tuesday, November 13, 2018	Blair Lowry
Tuesday, December 11, 2018	Christa Runka
Tuesday, January 8, 2019	Derek Baron
Tuesday, February 12, 2019	Bruce Francis
Tuesday, March 12, 2019	
Tuesday, April 9, 2019	Marie Logan
Tuesday, May 14, 2019	Christa Runka
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 (Vauxhall)	Jennifer Crowson

### **Board of Trustees School Responsibilities (2018-2019)**

### Marie Logan (Ward 1 – Lomond/Enchant)

Enchant School – Enchant
Lomond Community School – Lomond
Armada Colony School
Enchant Colony School
Hillridge Colony School
Lomond Colony School

### Jennifer Crowson (Ward 2 – Hays/Vauxhall)

Hays School – Hays Horizon MAP School - Vauxhall Vauxhall Elementary School – Vauxhall Vauxhall High School – Vauxhall Copperfield Colony School

## **Bruce Francis (Ward 3 – Taber)**

Dr. Hamman School - Taber Midland Colony School Cameron Farms Colony School Evergreen Colony School W.R. Myers High School - Taber

### Blair Lowry (Ward 3 – Taber)

Central School – Taber
D.A. Ferguson Middle School - Taber
L.T. Westlake School – Taber
Taber Christian Alternative School – Taber
Kingsland Colony School

### Rick Anderson (Ward 3 – Taber)

ACE Place Learning Centre - Taber Barnwell School – Barnwell Taber Mennonite School – Taber Fairlane Colony School Oaklane Colony School Prairiehome Colony School

## **Derek Baron (Ward 4 – Warner/Grassy Lake)**

Chamberlain School – Grassy Lake
Warner School – Warner
Arden T. Litt Centre for Learning – Grassy Lake
Bluegrass Colony School
Delco Colony School
Sunnysite Colony School

### Christa Runka (Ward 5 – Milk River/Coutts)

Erle Rivers High School – Milk River
Milk River Elementary School – Milk River
River Road Colony School
Elmspring Colony School
Gold Spring Colony School
Miltow Colony School

### **Horizon School Division No. 67**

# **Board of Trustees Board Meeting Dates (2018-2019)**

Wednesday, August 22, 2018		
Wednesday, September 26, 2018		
Wednesday, October 24, 2018		
Wednesday, November 28, 2018		
Wednesday, December 19, 2018		
Wednesday, January 23, 2019		
Wednesday, February 27, 2019		
Wednesday, March 27, 2019		
Thursday, April 18, 2019		
Wednesday, May 22, 2019		
Wednesday, June 26, 2019		
Wednesday, August 28, 2019		